The Classics Club Project – signed-up!

Finally I’ve decided to join this exciting project, The Classics Club, initiated by Jillian at A Room of One’s Own. I’m actually an omnivorous reader, but classics have often been in my readings. I see that without being consciously planned, up to this month of this year I’ve read 11 classics works. So I thought I’d like to make it a real project, and by this I hope I will read more classics in a more persistent way, and get connected with the community out there to discuss and find good recommendation on what to read next. So, thanks to Jillian, and to all the moderators, for hosting this Classics Club!

I’m aiming at reading 75 classics for the period of five years (till August 22, 2017). It’s a high number for me as a slow reader, who likes to stroll in reading and savors the sentences, and some of the books in my list are so long (those of Dumas, Hugo, Proust, Tolstoy, or Beauvoir). But I’d also want to stretch myself a bit. However, my enjoyment in reading the books is still my ultimate goal, not just only about finishing the list.

And below is my list. Rather than putting a complete list, I’d like to make it a living list though – I’ll add more titles along the way, or may change or swap a few. The books listed here are mainly in my reading plan indeed, or already my TBRs, so I’ve intended to read them anyway, and I’ll add some more later when I find recommendation on what to read next from fellow bloggers or when I feel like to read other works of the same author whose works I have read and found good. Here I include non-occidental classics as well, such as those from Japan and Philippines, and later possibly also from Indonesia. I also include a considerable number from French literature, which I adore! A few are rereads.

  1. Villette – Charlotte Bronte
  2. A Tale of Two Cities – Charles Dickens
  3. Persuasion – Jane Austen
  4. Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen
  5. Northanger Abbey – Jane Austen
  6. Agnes Grey – Anne Bronte
  7. The Tenant of Wildfell Hall – Anne Bronte
  8. Travels with a Donkey in the Cevennes – Robert Louis Stevenson
  9. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn – Mark Twain
  10. A Tramp Abroad – Mark Twain
  11. The Call of The Wild – Jack London
  12. Animal Farm – George Orwell
  13. Homage to Catalonia – George Orwell
  14. 1984 – George Orwell
  15. Burmese Days – George Orwell
  16. A Collection of Essays – George Orwell
  17. The Collected Essay, Journalism and Letters of George Orwell Volume 4: In Front of Your Nose 1945-1950 – George Orwell
  18. Decline of the English Murder and Other Essays – George Orwell
  19. For Whom the Bell Tolls – Ernest Hemingway
  20. Tender is the Night – Scott F. Fitzgerald
  21. Metamorphosis – Franz Kafka
  22. The Trial – Franz Kafka
  23. The Picture of Dorian Gray – Oscar Wilde
  24. The Importance of Being Earnest – Oscar Wilde
  25. Three Men in a Boat – Jerome K. Jerome
  26. Three Men on a Bummel – Jerome K. Jerome
  27. I am A Cat  – Natsume Soseki
  28. Tower of London – Natsume Soseki
  29. The Journey – Jiro Osaragi
  30. The Snow Country – Yasunari Kawabata
  31. Noli Me Tangere – Jose Rizal
  32. Around the World in 80 Days – Jules Verne
  33. 20,000 Leagues under The Sea – Jules Verne
  34. The Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas
  35. The Three Musketeers – Alexandre Dumas
  36. The Phantom of the Opera – Gaston Leroux
  37. Sentimental Education – Gustave Flaubert
  38. The Belly of Paris – Emile Zola
  39. The Masterpiece – Emile Zola
  40. Germinal – Emile Zola
  41. The Debacle – Emile Zola
  42. La Bete Humaine – Emile Zola
  43. The Plaque – Albert Camus
  44. Tartufe – Moliere
  45. Bonjour Tristesse – Francoise Sagan
  46. La Gloire de Mon Pere – Marcel Pagnol
  47. Le Petit Prince – Antoine de Saint Exupery (to reread, this time the french version)
  48. L’Amant – Marguerite Duras (to reread, this time the french version)
  49. Swann’s Way – Marcel Proust
  50. Les Miserables – Victor Hugo (to reread, this time the unabridged version)
  51. The Hunchback of Notre Dame – Victor Hugo
  52. The Last Day of a Condemned Man – Victor Hugo
  53. Old Goriot – Honore de Balzac
  54. Candide – Voltaire (to reread)
  55. Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov
  56. Maria – Vladimir Nabokov
  57. Anne Karenina – Leo Tolstoy
  58. The Cossacks – Leo Tolstoy
  59. Notes from the Underground – Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  60. The Idiot – Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  61. Doctor Zhivago – Boris Pasternak
  62. The Railway Children – Edith Nesbit
  63. The Dubliner – James Joyce (to reread)
  64. Fahrenheit 451 – Ray Bradbury
  65. Brave New World – Aldous Huxley
  66. Walden – Henry David Thoreau
  67. Anne of the Island – L. M. Montgomery
  68. Anne of Windy Poplars – L. M. Montgomery
  69. Memoirs of a Dutiful Daughter – Simone de Beauvoir
  70. The Prime of Life – Simone de Beauvoir
  71. All Said and Done – Simone de Beauvoir

This is My Classics Club Project page.

Inspired to join as well? Join the Club here.

18 thoughts on “The Classics Club Project – signed-up!

  1. Yayyyy! You finally joined in! You are the 7th Indonesian blogger who joined the club.
    You have chosen quite a lot of Zola, Germinal is superb, I have just finished it. L’Assommoir was also good, almost as good as Germinal. The Masterpiece is also in my list, the next Zola on my TBR piles.

    1. mademelani

      I think I’ll put L’Assommoir into the list… see, it seems my list will get longer in time🙂
      Been thinking to make a personal ‘reading event’ for all the Rougon-Macquart novels… definitely it’ll take years to finish, but seems to be well worth..

  2. Jillian ♣

    Welcome to the group!! I’m inspired by all your French literature. I have a feeling I too will eventually love the French works. Villette is a beautiful novel. (Lots of French throughout.) Sense & Sensibility is one of my favorites, and The Tenant of Wildfell Hall was my first club read.🙂

    1. mademelani

      Thanks, Jillian! What you initiated and have done so far with the Classics Club is inspiring to me! A lot of good books out there, and the discussions in the club are so encouraging. I’m glad I joined the club!

  3. I love your list! I’m in great favor of a diverse reading list myself, and this covers so many wonderful authors and titles. I can’t wait to continue on our journey, and cast several other, more current novels, temporarily aside.

  4. bzee

    asyik, semakin ramai ternyata yg dari Indonesia🙂
    I envy you for reading French literature.. I always want to speak the language but apparently have no time to take some courses, hehe..

    1. mademelani

      yup, I’ve learnt I’m the 7th from Indonesia!
      Yeah we can’t have time for everything, same situation with me here… I’ve long been in favor for french literature, but mostly I read it in english. Only sometimes I read it in its original version. Most of the french lit books on the list I’ll read in english.

  5. Welcome to The Classics Club. I like the idea of a ‘living list’. After all, who knows where our reading adventures will take us?

    I look forward to reading your reviews.

  6. Wow … what a awesome list, maybe I can learn some of sight on those literature. If you’re the 7th participants from Indonesia, maybe we should looking someone else so it will become 10 participants😀 Btw, on the French Literature are you gonna compared with the English version ? I wonder is it any different…

    1. mademelani

      Yes maybe some other would like to join as well🙂
      As for the french lit, I didn’t intend to compare them with the english version. Just that before I read those books in Indonesian, now that I can read french in some degree, I would like to reread them in their original version. But that’s not all the case, most of the french lit books I’ll read in english.

Leave a Reply

