Books on France 2013 Reading Challenge

books-on-franceThis year I’d like to be participating in Books on France 2013 Reading Challenge, hosted by words and peace. I love french literature, or books with setting in France, and this year I’d like to dwell into considerable amount of time reading more books of this kind of literature.

There are levels to choose in terms of how many books you want to read for this challenge, and I would take for Level 2, “beaucoup”, which means reading 6 books on France. Here is the list (a bit more than 6 books, as I have read 2 from my January reading):

  1. One of Emile Zola‘s books (I’ll decide later which to read)
  2. Les Misérables by Victor Hugo (I failed to finish reading the e-book last year, will restart and continue this year with the conventional paper book)
  3. The Last Day of A Condemned Man, also by Victor Hugo
  4. Sentimental Education by Gustave Flaubert
  5. La Gloire de Mon Père by Marcel Pagnol, a souvenir d’enfance, a genre that I love much. (Read)
  6. L’Amant by Marguerite Duras (Read)
  7. Printemps et Autres Saisons by J. M. G. Le Clézio
  8. Perhaps, Memoirs of A Dutiful Daughter by Simone de Beauvoir (I’ve long wanted to read her memoirs, but I also know that it needs a certain mood to read this kind of book, so I’ll see). Or, Travels with a Donkey in the Cévennes, by Robert Louis Stevenson, a travel memoir.

 

3 thoughts on “Books on France 2013 Reading Challenge

  1. Kerennya reading challenge yang diikuti. Pingin banget baca Les Mis dari dulu, cuma nyari yang versi diperpendeknya, karena kalo baca 5 buku, sanggup nggak ya, hehe..

    1. mademelani

      ayuk ikut juga yuk. byk kok buku on France.
      Les Mis dulu bgt aku pernah baca versi abridged-nya, walo gak terlalu pendek juga, hmpir 700 halaman, keluaran Bentang Pustaka, terjemahan dari Anton Kurnia. Bagus bgt (bukunya dan terjemahannya). coba aja cari di tobuk online, mgkn msh ada.

Leave a Reply

